aspECard is profiting on my script PostcardMentor

It happens every now and then. Someone takes my free script(s) and then changes some layout, add a few things and then tries to sell it.

The last one in the row is maine-net.com which with no doubt has used my TopsiteMentor and PostcardMentor.

I will for now just lay out the evidence for PostcardMentor (my original script) and aspEcard(their script which they are trying to sell for 80$ or 40$). I recognize my own scripts when I see them even if they are hotted up with some nicer layout.

Please look at this page at http://www2.aspcode.net/evidence/ecard.htm to look at some of the screenshots I have taken from PostcardMentor (to the left) and aspECard(scroll to the right to see them).

Is it a coincidence?

Please notice that all url query parameters are named the same – years ago when I started coding ASP and developed PostcardMentor for ASP and all other of my ASP scripts I for some stupid reasons always called my auto increment fields in the database fldAuto (now I just call them id). Strange that the developer of aspEcard do too, right? And all other parameters as well, I mean small=…

I just don’t feel like saying much more about this, for me it’s obvious, the pics talk for themselves but let me just add the last and maybe most strange coindidence(?):

All postcard scripts is about sending away a postcard containing a link to a page where the receipient can view it and I first just made a like like viewcard.asp?cardid=. Then I thought that’s not good, anyone with a brain could figure out how to view any card at all, just enetering any number at chance as cardid. So I developed a really stupid(but working) scheme to make the url look like
viewcard.asp?cardid=id—recepientemail and of course verified the email address when they tried to view the card.

Yesterday I tried sending a card from maine-net.com:s demo site and I can tell you I wasn’t surprised to see that the viewcard link looked like:

…www.maine-net.com/ecard/viewcard.asp?cardid=1151—addr@thedomain.com.

Why am I telling you about this?

a) If someone should profit from my scripts it should me me
b) thjis has happened before with other people and when I contact them they are usually embarrased and takes down their script asap. But Will at maine-net.com answered my email by saying

QUOTE:

Stefan,

Not even close.

Will

—–Original Message—–

From: Stefan Holmberg
[mailto:REMOVED]

Sent: Saturday, August 14, 2004 1:54 PM

To: wills@maine-net.com

Subject: Your applications are copyrighted

I am Stefan Holmberg and I am the funder of
ASPCode.net. I have found your applications
ASPEcard and AspTopSites to be almost identical to my own (PostcardMentor and
TopsiteMentor. I can not let anyone profit on
my work so I ask you to immedietely remove
those scripts from your site.

My original apps can be downloaded from
http://www2.aspcode.net/default.aspx?page=article_subarea&id=11 .
ENDQUOTE

So, that’s what I has to say right now in this matter. STA AWAY FROM MAINE-NET.COM. They are lying and unethical.

Leave a Response